A True Handyman Woman

  Ladies, it’s true. You can be a handyman.

As much as I love to count on my hubby for DIY projects, there’s nothing like being able to do it myself. My husband isn’t the handy kind of guy. He can fix a computer, do keyword searches online in the blink of an eye, but he’s not too good with a hammer or a paint brush. This is where I come in. I have done most of the handyman work around our house since we got married. From fixing toilets to hanging drywall and mudding it, I’ve recreated and fixed so many things you’d be surprised. Now, I do get my husband to help with the big stuff like the kitchen below.

2013-11-05 02.37.572014-01-10 20.57.47

In my newest manuscript, my heroine, Ava Worthington, is a handyman like me. Because she’s not a man, her work is questioned all the time. Stepping out of the roles as men see them can be tough on a gal. I’ve gotten surprised looks many a time when I knew what the ‘guys’ were talking about as they described the mechanics of house repair in one project or other. It also helps when there’s a project a little too difficult to do on my own and I have to call in a professional. I can generally tell if they’re swindling me, for the most part.

Having repair/renovation knowledge has saved us a lot of money.2013-12-05 21.10.40

Because of my knack for figuring things out, we’ve managed to do so many great projects for a fraction of the cost. Even if you count buying the right tools for a project, it’s amazing what you can save.

Believe it or not, it’s fun to do household renovations.

I know this doesn’t seem possible, but it’s true. I enjoy doing lots of the work. I do have to admit now that I’m not as young as I once was, I employ the pros more often than I used to. But I still put a lot of elbow grease in myself. There’s nothing like seeing the finished project and knowing you did it.

Repairs and renovations remind me of Christ.

He knows how to repair the most broken heart. He tears away the old and broken parts of us and helps us grow into beautifully working creatures. I’m so thankful that I was worth his time to repair.

Next time you have a repair, take a good look at it and see if you can do it yourself. You might be surprised that it wasn’t as hard as you thought.

Do you do any DIY projects? What was the last project you tackled? Leave a comment below.

9 thoughts on “A True Handyman Woman

  1. I manage some simple stuff myself, but my husband is handy- and a perfectionist. More often than not, he comes along behind me to ‘fix’ my imperfect fix. I find that if I start something, he will come generally finish it for me and it will be done as well as any professional . . . eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely kitchen renovation Erin. Hardwood floors are one my honey do lists for the house – you make it look easy😄
    The only handy man jobs I’ve managed have been to assemble small pieces of furniture. Can you say power tool?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, I cheated. The flooring is actually Pergo. It’s easy to install once you get the hang of it. It’s more durable than most hardwood floors, too. You just need a circular saw and the special tools to put in lament flooring to do the job.

      Like

  3. I’ve done a lot of things in our house, but nothing as big as your kitchen. I like wood. I antiqued a dresser and a small bookcase to match it. The bookcase is going to hold one of my Bibles and my before bedtime reading material. I’ve weatherproofed the wood on the outside deck to help it get through the winter. Oh, there’s lots of stuff I’ve done.

    Like

Leave a comment