Appam – Rice Pancakes Recipe

I love the sound of this great recipe over on Goan Imports’ blog.

GoanImports.com

The origin of this recipe is from Kerala and is traditionally eaten with Meat Curry similar to the Goan Xacuti Curry. Making this recipe made me realize that it can be used to make the famous Goan Steamed Rice Cakes called Sanna (Sannam) with the addition of grated coconut to the batter specially when coconut toddy is not readily available. This will be my next project to make. It is gluten-free and kid friendly.

rice-pancakes-gluten-free-appam-coconut-milk-kerela-recipe-sannamAs my mother in law is visiting us from Goa and she being from Kerala I have found some similarities between the Goan and Keralite cuisine. If you are a Keralite then probably you may judge me by the picture of my Appam or Rice Pancakes that it does not look like the real thing as Appam is made in a shallow wok and has a much lacy texture than mine. That is why I…

View original post 298 more words

Leave a Reply

